I Guess I’ll Have to Go Shopping!!

For the first time in recent history, I hit a NEW ALL TIME LOW IN WEIGHT this morning!

And I now fit into my SIZE 6 “goal jeans” I bought months ago!!  I now don’t have much that fits me, pants-wise.  I really do have to go shopping before my Autumn trip to visit my sister Janet and cousin Susan in upstate NY.

Keep in mind that I’m short – a little shy of 5’4″

Late last year, I was hitting the scales at 170 pounds after some major depression issues and couldn’t fit into my clothes.  I gained 10 pounds in less than a month!  I broke down and bought a couple “size ups” in jeans, so I could get by.  I didn’t want to invest in any more of THAT size!!  I didn’t feel good, nothing fit properly, and I had no stamina.

I”d tried dieting, major exercising – let’s say it just really pissed me off.  Years ago I USED to be TOO THIN!!  Nothing was working to get this weight off.  The harder I tried, the angrier I got.  I knew my attitude about it all was part of the problem.  But what to do?   

I found a combination of things that worked for me, and you’ll hear all about it right here for FREE! 

[See the links  in the sidebar under HEALTH for more info about the following…]

  • I decided upon a food plan that emphasized foods you CAN eat and I actually like.  This is the Mediterranean Diet.  It includes things like chocolate and wine, and many very delicious foods.  It’s a balanced approach, emphasizing vegetables, fruits, whole grains, and lesser amounts of meats.
  • I started drinking lots more water.
  • I cleaned out my cupboards and refrigerator – got rid of foods not “on the plan.”
  • I started taking flaxseed oil capsules.  I read about a couple studies where people intaking more omega 3’s didn’t suffer from stress as they did before.  I felf my stress reaction was contributing to my weight gain.
  • I tried self hypnosis for the 1st time.  It’s a lot like guided imagery and it has changed my relationship with food forever.  I ordered a set of CDs by Dr. Roberta Temes: Enjoying Weight Loss.  I listened to each session for 3 days.  At the end of 3 weeks, I was very pleased with both my food plan and new concepts about eating.  The sessions were relaxing and not at all woo-woo.
  • I received another self hypnosis CD, Mental Toughness for free with my order.  It helped support my goal:  eat right, get fit, and wear a size 6 (just right for my height.)
  • I bought a pair of SIZE 6 JEANS and hung them on the back of my bathroom door to inspire me.  I tried them on when I first got them – I couldn’t even get them up over my hips!
  • My sister Cindy recommended and gave me the book, “French Women Don’t Get Fat – The Secret of Eating for Pleasure”  after she heard about my plans.  In the book is a “Miracle Soup” that helped me lose 4 pounds the 1st time, and 2 pounds the second time.  These are pounds that stayed off.  The author supports many of the points that were part of the self hypnosis program – very in sync.
  • I started gardening and walking.  And I mean A LOT!  These are things I actually LIKE to do!  I got a new electric mower and I mow not only our yard, but our neighbors – cheaper than a gym.  I got my wonderful 11 cubic yards of dirt and am moving it all over the yard.  We brought in truckloads of rock and I made a flagstone patio and put in garden terraces.
  • I decided NOT to have a target weight, but a target size.  It turned out that if I get a lot of exercise, I might weigh more, but still be smaller.  For instance, when I was younger I weighed 135 and wore a size 6.  Now I weigh more AND am a more fit, size 6.
  • I decided upon a REWARD for attaining my goal (besides feeling better and getting new clothes) and it would be a trip to France.  So now, I’m learning French, too – oh la la! 

All tolled, I’ve now lost 18 pounds and over 1/3 of my body fat, as measured by my Tanita scale!  I’ve gone down 3-4 sizes, depending upon the manufacturer.  I feel an energy level I thought was impossible at age 60+ and am much more fit than when I was young and thin!

And the really good news is that I still love to eat.  I realize that I am full much sooner than I think I am.  To live a healthy rest-of-my-life, I CAN use a combination of portion control, making healthy delicious food choices, drinking lots of water, and expending energy in ways I enjoy.

2 responses to “I Guess I’ll Have to Go Shopping!!

  1. That sounds like the ideal combo for my way of thinking and eating. I taught myself hypnosis when in high school to relieve stress and focus better and it really paid off, think I’m about to revisit it.

    I already garden so need to start walking more. It’s been a problem for me, used to be a runner but bunions did me in. I had them fixed but can’t run much now and walking only in the best of shoes. We shall see though.

    Thanks for the info and ecouragement Cathy. I’m a trying.

    Love and hugs,

    Pam

  2. Isn’t just the pits, when your feet (or knees or hips) hurt and you like to walk or run?! Have you tried KEEN shoes? I’ve found them to be the best for my poor bunioned feet, especially the one that also has plantar fascitis.

    Wonderful to see you last night! Don’t we just have the BEST little island community?

Leave a Reply

