Elegy for Joshua

 

dark house. the phone rings.
who is this voice from the past?
“sit down – Josh is dead.”

 

spiritual void
the magic potion fixed.
needle on the sill.

 

“i’m empty inside”
he said unconvincingly.
“meth is miraculous.”

 

rehab, recover
rehab, recover, again.
does it ever end? 

 

then he could not sleep
cocktail of drugs did not work.
oh no…not a gun

 

elegy for Josh
broken pieces of my heart.
i cry, laugh, then sigh…

 

the fleeting past “nows”
haphazardly in my brain
time to record them

 

flickering golden space
brims with precious memories.
much joy, such sadness

 

“here are his ashes,”
his father said. “you get half.’
now he is in grandma’s cookie jar

 

but he is not here
but gone to the other side.
his pain has ended.

 

will it really heal –
my memories recalled?
and life does go on…

 

so I dig deeper
an attempt to recall all.
oh is it too much?

 

LOVE heals the sorrow
remembering happy times.
a son – his mother.

 

by Catherine Thompson in memory of Joshua Mills 1973-2007
© 2009

One response to “Elegy for Joshua

  1. Somehow I got my comment on this on your previous post.

    What I said was that your poem brought tears to my eyes.

    I hope you have a great trip/

Leave a Reply

